This site uses cookies. When you browse the site you are consenting to its use. Know more.

UFC Weight Divisions

UFC Weight Divisions

UFC recognizes 8 categories of male weight and 4 categories of female weight.

The fighters can only compete in their weight category and, to change their category, they have to gain or lose weight, which often leads to losing speed or losing strength.

by Academia   |   comments 0
Monday, March 25 2019

UFC started without weight divisions, where for example, the Brazilian Royce Gracie faced opponents who were 30 kg heavier. In addition, the fight did not have rounds or gloves and almost had no rules, so it was for a long time called "Anything - Goes". Over the years, this sport has become popular and has been winning rules, reaching the high level of today. One of the major changes was the fighters' weight, where the organization created categories. 

In all the UFC's events, there are fights of different weights, so this paper aims to show the differences of these categories and which major fighters participate in them.


Heavyweight (from 94 to 120,2 kg)

This is the category where the fighters of greater weight belong, where many fights do not reach the last round, due to the great strength of the athletes. Thus, it is normal for the combat to end with a few blows. The current champion is Daniel Cormier, but the category still has names such as Fabricio Werdum, Cain Velasquez, Alistair Overeem, Junior dos Santos (gypsy), Mark Hunt, Minotauro, Andrei Arlovski, Travis Browne, among others.

Light Heavyweight (from 85 to 93 kg)

This category has already had names such as MMA's, being the first champion Shamrock, in 1997. After, the champion was Tito Ortiz, besides Randy Couture, Vitor Belfort, Chuck Lidell, Quinton Jackson, Forrest Griffin, Rashad Evans, Lyoto Machida, Shogun and Jon Jones. The latter, made history in this category, because was champion eight times, winning most of the fights with great ease and becoming a strong name in the UFC. However, some personal problems ended up harming his career. After this, Daniel Cormier became champion, but in 2018 Jon Jones was the champion.

Middleweight (from 78 to 84 kg)

This is perhaps the UFC's most famous division and this is due to the great popularity that Anderson Silva brought to the organization, attracting the world's looks for this sport. The Brazilian is considered by many the greatest MMA's fighter of all time, having made fantastic displays, which really surprised everyone, since Anderson Silva showed an extraordinary superiority, beating the opponents in an exceptional way. Despite all this beautiful history, the Heavyweight category suffered one of the UFC's greatest sorrows, as Anderson Silva was seriously injured, breaking his leg in the fight against Chris Weidman. So, the title still remained with Chris Weidman and then with Luke Rockhold, but the current champion is Robert Whittaker. For sure this category misses the domain of Anderson Silva, and currently seeks a great champion who manages to keep the title in many fights and also make history in the organization.

Welterweight (from 71 to 77 kg)

This category also had a fighter who made history and, since his departure, nobody has been able to do anything like it. This fighter is Georges St. Pierre, who was champion nine times. His last victory was in the fight against Johny Hendricks, after which he retired. Thus, the title was won by three other fighters, but what is fact is that the category still seeks a great name, bearing in mind that throughout history has had champions such as Matt Hughes and B.J. Penn.

Lightweight (from 67 to 70 kg)

This category became better known after the entry of Conor McGregor, who arrived from the Featherweight. Historically, the greatest champions were B. J. Penn, Frank Edgar and Ben Henderson (all with three titles). After this, Anthony Pettis, Rafael dos Anjos and Eddie Alvarez won the title only once. Now the champion is Khabib Nurmagomedov.

Featherweight (from 62 to 66 kg)

The greatest name in this category is Jose Aldo, who won the title seven times, but was defeated by Conor McGregor. The fight was quick, after McGregor struck a fine punch. After that, McGregor changed category and Jose Aldo returned to be the champion. In addition, the Featherweight category is the favorite of many UFC fans, since the fight is usually long (unlike Heavyweight where the fighters are very strong and the fight is over too fast) and the fighters have great technique, striking and being hit, leaving the audience really excited.

Bantamweight (from 57 to 61 kg)

This category is no longer dominated by Dominick Cruz - the first champion. He lost the title for being injured and missing out on the UFC for two years. Thus, the Brazilian Renan Barão became champion, but even lost the title in the fight against TJ Dillashaw. During this period, Dominick Cruz recovered completely from his injury, returning to compete and recovering the title.

Flyweight (until 57 kg)

American Demetrious Johnson has written an excellent story in the UFC as he won the title nine times. However, the current champion is Henry Cejudo.



Women’s Featherweight (from 62 to 66 kg)

Já foram encontradas 3 campeãs nesta categoria. A atual é Amanda Nunes, que lutou contra Cris Cyborg.


Women’s Bantamweight (from 53 to 61 kg)

On 23/02/2013, the UFC held the first fight involving women - the fight was between Ronda Rousey and Liz Carmouche. To the joy of the organization, the public liked it and this category became a success, with a great dominion of Round Rousey, which won the first six fights, showing a very great superiority in the fights. However, it was surprisingly defeated by Holly Holm, who soon in her first fight, was defeated by Miesha Tate. Then, the Brazilian Amanda Nunes defeated Miesha, becoming the first Brazilian woman to be UFC champion.

Women’s Flyweight (until 56 kg)

The very first title was won by Nicco Montaño who defeated Roxanne Modafferi in the final of "The Ultimate Fighter: A New World Champion Finale". The current champion is from Russia - Valentina Shevchenko.

Women’s Strawweight (until 52 kg)

This category is less known because it did not have a great prominence, as was the case of Rousey Rousey's fights in the Bantamweight. So far, there have been three champions: the first was the American Carla Esparza, followed by Joanna Jedrzejczyk, who has won four titles. However, the current champion is American - Rose Namajunas.

Now you have a more complete view of the UFC categories, so you have no excuses for not following the events and better understand the various fights and the difference of weight!